Abernethy Primary

Abernethy Primary School
Life at Abernethy Primary

Our School


The school operates a “House” system, P1 to P7, and as a positive approach emphasis is on the awarding of points for effort, integrity, good manners etc..

To encourage commitment to the ethos and life of the school, pupils and individual classes are allocated tasks such as Paired reading support, organising the library as well as every pupil being part of a committee (Eco School, Health Promoting School, Pupil Council or Right Respecting Group. Each class has a specific action plan in relation to our Eco Schools programme. In addition P7 pupils buddy P1 pupils and several are House Captains who run Fun clubs for the rest of school as well as support delivering school assemblies.

Pupils are made aware of the high expectations of home and school and accept that they should strive to give of their best in all things.

The school policy is one of zero tolerance on bullying or any form of discrimination. The school endorses the authority’s  Guidelines. Any concerns about incidents of this nature should be communicated to the Headteacher immediately.

Each class annually elects two representatives to form the Pupil Council who meet regularly with the Headteacher to discuss and decide school issues and ways of improving the school.


Curriculum for Excellence

The aim of Curriculum for Excellence is to improve learning, attainment and achievement for all children. It is also about ensuring pupils have a greater range of learning experiences.

In our school we believe it is important that children acquire a wide range of skills for personal growth and life within our community. This will help them enjoy greater choice and gives them the opportunity to discover their own talents

Curriculum for Excellence aims to build on the many strengths of the existing system and develop these further to provide a coherent, flexible, enriched curriculum for all learners from the ages of 3 to 18. The new curriculum will be challenging and enjoyable. It will help all learners to develop skills for learning, work and life and demand appropriate standards of attainment and achievement to match these skills.

Curriculum for Excellence is organised into eight parts called Key Areas.
Literacy and Language, Numeracy and Maths, Social Studies, Expressive Arts
Health and Well Being, Science, Technological Studies, Religious and Moral education
Each key area is delivered within a broad framework of experiences and outcomes.

Curriculum for Excellence focuses on children learning actively. Active learning is learning which engages and challenges children’s thinking using real life and imaginary situations. All areas of the curriculum can be enriched and developed through collaborative and co-operative working.

Central to this is the idea that the curriculum should develop what are known as ‘the four capacities’ in young people. These are :
· Successful learners
· Responsible citizens
· Confident individuals and
· Effective contributors